Calvó Prize Nominations

Call for nominations for the 8th edition of the Calvó-Armengol International Prize

The Calvó-Armengol International Prize was established in 2008 to honor the memory of Professor Antoni Calvó-Armengol, who passed away in the Fall of 2007 at 37 years of age. It is awarded every two years to an economist, or other social scientist, who is not older than 40 years old, for their contributions to the understanding of social structure and its implications for economic interactions. The prize, which includes a cash award of 30,000€, recognizes exceptional achievement in research.

The Prize is supported by the Barcelona School of Economics and the Government of Andorra.


The prizewinners to date have been: Esther Duflo (MIT) in 2009, Roland Fryer (Harvard) in 2011, Raj Chetty (Harvard) in 2013, Matthew Gentzkow (Stanford) in 2015, and Melissa Dell (Harvard) in 2017, Benjamin Golub (Northwestern) in 2019, and Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard) in 2021.

The awarded scientist will be selected by September 2023. The ceremony, which includes a lecture for a general audience, will take place in Andorra, the small and beautiful country in the middle of the Pyrenees that was Antoni's homeland. Antoni Calvó-Armengol was a professor at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and BSE. In his memory, the prizewinner will also deliver an academic lecture that will take place in Barcelona.

Requirements for nomination

  • Nominations should include a statement about the nominee's contributions and the nominee's CV.
  • The nominee should have been born in 1983 or later.

Nominations should be submitted online, before June 30, 2023 at 14:30h (CET) to: Calvó Prize Nominations or by mail to BSE, Ramon Trias Fargas, 25-27, 08005 Barcelona, Spain.

Nominations will be considered by a selection committee appointed by the Barcelona School of Economics, consisting of Professors Melissa Dell, Benjamin Golub, Joan Llull and Antonio Cabrales (Chair).

Submit a nomination

Please use the form below to submit your nomination:

The Calvó-Armengol Prize is one of the BSE research initiatives supported by the Severo Ochoa Research Excellence Program (CEX2019-000915-S) through Spain's State Research Agency (Agencia Estatal de Investigación - AEI). 

The BSE has been accredited as a Severo Ochoa Center of Excellence in all three editions of the program (2012-15, 2016-19, and 2020-23).