Calvó-Armengol International Prize in Economics

The Calvó-Armengol International Prize is awarded every two years to a top researcher in Economics or social sciences younger than 40 years old for contributions to the theory and comprehension of the mechanisms of social interaction.

The recipient of the Calvó Prize delivers a lecture on the occasion of the award ceremony in Andorra, as well as the "Calvó-Armengol Lecture" in Barcelona. The Prize includes a cash award of €30,000.

About Antoni Calvó-Armengol (1970-2007)

Antoni Calvó-Armengol

The Calvó-Armengol Prize was established to honor the memory of BSE Affiliated Professor and ICREA-UAB Professor Antoni 'Toni' Calvó-Armengol, beloved member of the BSE community and a highly esteemed researcher from Andorra who passed away unexpectedly in 2007 at the age of 37.

Widely regarded as one of the leading theorists of his generation, Toni was well known for his work in social networks. He left behind a large body of literature that has had a lasting impact in his field, including work on social networks and labor markets demonstrating how patterns of employment and wages can be explained when taking into account the sharing of job information through networks.

Promoters of the Calvó-Armengol Prize

The Calvó-Armengol Prize is one of the BSE research initiatives supported by the Severo Ochoa Research Excellence Program (CEX2019-000915-S) through Spain's State Research Agency (Agencia Estatal de Investigación - AEI). 

Prize Selection Committee

Matthew Jackson (Stanford University)
Acting Selection Committee Chair,
Appointed representative of the BSE Scientific Council

Salvador Barberà (UAB and BSE)

Esther Duflo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
First recipient of the Calvó-Armengol Prize (2010),
Nobel Laureate in Economics (2019)

Calvó-Armengol Prize Laureates

Benjamin Golub

VI Calvó-Armengol International Prize

Born: United States

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Northwestern University

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"Complexity and Fragility in Economic Networks"

Melissa Dell

V Calvó-Armengol International Prize (2018)

Born: Enid, OK (United States)

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Harvard University

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"Persistence and Transformation in Economic Development"

Matthew Gentzkow

IV Calvó-Armengol International Prize (2016)

Born: United States

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Stanford University

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"Political Polarization and the Media"

Raj Chetty

III Calvó-Armengol International Prize (2014)

Born: New Delhi, India

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Harvard University

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"The Value-Added of Neighborhoods: Neighborhood Effects in Social Mobility"

Roland Fryer

II Calvó-Armengol International Prize (2012)

Born: Daytona Beach, FL, United States

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Harvard University

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"Racial Inequality in the 21st Century: the Declining Significance of Discrimination"

Esther Duflo

I Calvó-Armengol International Prize (2010)

Born: Paris, France

Affiliation at the time of the award:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Calvó Prize Lecture:
"Gender Equality and Development"

Esther Duflo shares 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics