17 BSE Scientific Council members participate in 2019 activities

group photo

This March, 17 members of the BSE Scientific Council came to the city for their periodic meeting with administration and faculty of the Barcelona School of Economics. During these meetings, which take place every two to three years, the distinguished academics analyze the BSE's educational activities, research initiatives, and institutional development. In addition to the meeting, which took place at Bellaterra Campus (UAB), this year Scientific Council members participated in a public roundtable and a series of workshops for the BSE research community.

Roundtable connects Scientific Council experts with BSE students, alumni, faculty and friends

The participants were Nobel Laureates Robert E. Lucas (Chicago) and Edward C. Prescott (Arizona State), leading social media economist Matthew O. Jackson (Stanford), international trade expert Anne Krueger (Johns Hopkins), and labor market specialist Orley Ashenfelter (Princeton). The moderator for the discussion was BSE Research Professor Inés Macho-Stadler (UAB and BSE).

Video: Full Roundtable

Video playlist: All videos from the roundtable

The roundtable focused on socioeconomic changes that will define the beginning of the 21st century. During the discussion, the five experts shared various perspectives on changes the world is experiencing from an economic point of view and tackled issues that will be crucial in the 21st century, such as the automation of the labor market, financial crises and new central bank policies, how social networks influence the formation of opinions, international trade in a changing environment, and the difficulties of growth in the current economic context.

Photos from the roundtable and Scientific Council meeting

Workshops chaired by Scientific Council member for BSE Affiliated Professors and researchers  

Scientific Council members Aloisio Araujo (IMPA and FGV), Tim Kehoe (Minnesota), and Charles Manski (Northwestern) chaired three workshops where BSE Affiliated Professors had the opportunity to present their research in the areas of Applied Economics, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics.

Download workshop program

About the BSE Scientific Council

The Scientific Council is chaired by Hugo Sonnenschein, President Emeritus of the University of Chicago. The Council is further composed of more than 30 leading academics – including 11 Nobel Laureates in Economics – who help to forge and enhance relationships between the BSE and the wider academic community. Many have been members since the BSE's foundation, and over the years they have come to Barcelona not only for Scientific Council meetings but also to share their knowledge during BSE Lectures, the BSE Summer Forum, and other special events.

Members of the BSE Scientific Council participating in the 2019 activities

Hugo Sonnenschein (University of Chicago), Chair of the Scientific Council

Aloisio Araujo (IMPA and FGV, Rio de Janeiro)
Orley Ashenfelter (Princeton University)
Richard Blundell (University College London)
Raquel Fernández (New York University)
Oliver Hart (Harvard University), Nobel Laureate 2016
Matthew Jackson (Stanford University)
Tim Kehoe (University of Minnesota)
Anne Krueger (The Johns Hopkins University)
Robert Lucas (University of Chicago), Nobel Laureate 1995
Charles Manski (Northwestern University)
Juan Pablo Nicolini (US Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis)
Edward Prescott (Arizona State University), Nobel Laureate 2004
John Roberts (Stanford University)
Ariel Rubinstein (Tel Aviv University)
Nancy Stokey (University of Chicago)
Fabrizio Zilibotti (Yale University)

Full list of BSE Scientific Council members

Media coverage

Highlights from previous Scientific Council activities