Prof. Albert Marcet elected Econometric Society Fellow

BSE Research Professor Albert Marcet (ICREA-IAE and BSE) has been elected Fellow of the Econometric Society.

The Econometric Society is an international society for the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. Fellows represent the highest authority in the Society. The Society’s members nominate new Fellows each year in the fall. To be eligible for nomination as a Fellow, a candidate must have published original contributions to economic theory or to such statistical, mathematical, or accounting analyses as have a definite bearing on problems in economic theory.

Prof. Albert Marcet teaches in the BSE Macroeconomic Policy and Financial Markets master program.

Prof. Marcet is ICREA Research Professor at the Institute for Economic Analysis (IAE) and AXA Research Chair on Macroeconomic Risk at the Barcelona School of Economics. Previously, he was Professor at the London School of Economics (LSE) and at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF). His research interests include Macroeconomics, Time Series, and Financial Economics. He received a PhD in Economics from the University of Minnesota in 1987.

Fellows of the Econometric Society at BSE

Prof. Marcet is the fourth BSE affiliated professor elected Fellow of the Econometric Society. The three other Fellows on the BSE faculty are Prof. Salvador Barberà (UAB and BSE), Prof. Jordi Galí (CREI-UPF and BSE) and Prof. Andreu Mas-Colell (UPF and BSE). Prof. Mas-Colell has also served as President of the Econometric Society (1993).

Prof. Albert Marcet (ICREA-IAE and GSE) is the fourth BSE affiliated professor to be elected Fellow of the Econometric Society.

Leadership in economic research

In addition to Fellows of the Econometric Society, a number of BSE affiliated professors hold research leadership positions:

Current or past members of the Council of the European Economic Association:

7 BSE Affiliated Professors

Current Secretary General of the International Economic Association:

Joan M. Esteban (IAE and BSE)

Current and past members of the Council of the Spanish Economic Association:
19 BSE Affiliated Professors, including five presidents:

Fellows of the CEPR (Centre for Economic Policy Research):
8 BSE Affiliated Professors