journal cover

BSE Affiliated Professor Manuel García-Santana (CREI, UPF and BSE) and co-authors Jose Asturias (Georgetown University Qatar) and Roberto Ramos (Bank of Spain) have won the European Economic Association's 2020 Hicks-Tinbergen Medal for their paper, "Competition and the Welfare Gains from Transportation Infrastructure: Evidence from the Golden Quadrilateral of India." 

The paper provides major new insights on how to measure the welfare gains from infrastructure projects, decomposing these gains arising through a standard Ricardian channel, from those arising from improvements in allocative efficiency and markups terms of trade.

Other recent updates

Preview of the forecast map on a laptop screen

Forecasting armed conflict for prevention: conflictforecast.org

Hannes Mueller (IAE-CSIC and BSE) and Christopher Rauh (University of Cambridge) have relaunched conflictforecast.org, a site that...


Forthcoming publications by BSE Affiliated Professors

See a list of forthcoming publications by BSE Affiliated Professors and search papers already published

BSE Research

Larbi Alaoui awarded BBVA Foundation Leonardo Grant

Professor Larbi Alaoui (UPF and BSE) has been awarded a Leonard Grant by the BBVA Foundation. Leonardo Grants...

Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Jordi Galí awarded Spanish National Research Prize 2021

The Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation has awarded the 2021 Pascual Madoz National Research Prize in the areas of...

Ministry of Science and Innovation (in Spanish)