Euro sign in front of ECB in Frankfurt

Two alumni of the Barcelona School of Economics have been selected among the 10 finalists in the 2021 ECB Young Economists' Competition, organized by the European Central Bank.

The two finalists from BSE are:

Adrian Ifrim '15 (Macroeconomic Policy and Financial Markets) 
PhD Candidate at UAB and BSE
Selected for the paper, "The Fed put and monetary policy: An imperfect knowledge approach" 

View Ifrim's poster

Ilja Kantorovich '15 (Economics)
PhD, UPF and BSE. Post-doc at EPFL
Selected for the paper, "Exuberant and Uninformed: How Financial Markets (Mis-)Allocate Capital during Booms"

View Kantorovich's poster

Finalists in the Young Economists' Competition are selected for the innovative thinking and scientific merit of their work, as well as its European policy relevance.

At this year's ECB Forum on Central Banking (September 28-29), a jury of academics and ECB senior staff will assess the papers and posters of the 10 finalists. Policymakers, academics, and economists attending the Forum will also be able to cast their votes for the best research. The winner of the competition will be announced by ECB President Christine Lagarde at the end of the conference and will receive a prize of €10,000.

Other recent updates


Flip Klijn wins 2024 SEIO-BBVA Foundation Award

Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor Flip Klijn (IAE-CSIC and BSE) and his co-authors Péter Biró, Xenia Klimentova, and...

BBVA Foundation

Forthcoming publications by BSE Affiliated Professors

See a list of forthcoming publications by BSE Affiliated Professors and search papers already published

BSE Research
portrait of Robin Hogarth

In memoriam: Robin Hogarth (1942-2024)

Barcelona School of Economics Emeritus Research Professor Robin Hogarth (ICREA-UPF and BSE) has passed away at the age of 81....

A woman presents research from a stage with spotlights in front of a diverse audience

Let's shine a spotlight on research by women at BSE!

February 11 is the United Nations' International Day for Women and Girls in Science. For Women in Science Day...